One-Man Shows

Waukegan, IL One-Man Show

Waukegan Sector Will Fear The Accordion!

Three Brothers Theatre - 115 N. Genesee St. - $20, $15 student/senior/military
Sat 02/23/19 8:00 PM

I’m excited to return to Three Brothers Theatre where I got my alternative theater start!

SHARE
Elgin, IL One-Man Show

Replaced By A Robot

Elgin Fringe Festival - 15 Ziegler Court
Thu 09/13/18 9:00 PM
Fri 09/14/18 7:30 PM
Sat 09/15/18 1:30 PM
Sat 09/15/18 6:00 PM
Media Coverage
Thu 08/30/18 Elgin Courier-News advance publicity
Wed 09/05/18 Daily Herald advance publicity

Box office is at 15 Ziegler Court; allow time to walk to the show at Elgin Public House 219 E. Chicago St. You can order food and drinks at the bar and bring them in!

SHARE
Indianapolis, IN One-Man Show

Happy Fun Time at the (IndyFringe) Complex

IndyFringe ComedySportz - 721 Massachusetts Avenue - Adult $15, Senior Citizen/Student $12, Under 12 $10
Sat 08/18/18 6:00 PM
Sun 08/19/18 1:30 PM
Mon 08/20/18 6:00 PM
Fri 08/24/18 9:00 PM
Sat 08/25/18 10:30 PM
Sun 08/26/18 6:00 PM
Media Coverage
Sat 08/18/18 Plays With John and Wendy Blog review
“… a rollicking, entertaining hour full of lots of great music and lots of family-friendly fun.”
Sun 08/19/18 IndyFringe Talks Blog review
“… a tongue-in-cheek, satirical look at the American landscape since we all fell asleep one night in 2016 and awakened in disbelief, confusion, and despair… It’s about the lyrics. And that’s why you should go and listen to this show.”

Captain Ambivalent went to sleep in 2016 and woke up in this underground complex full of secret mutants and traitors controlled by an insane computer with no idea how we got there! And now, he’s been assigned to explain it all in song to you, the heroic survivors of the amnesia gas incident on level 12. Report to your re-education pods for a sidesplitting musical history of the future, the eighties, student debt, unintended consequences, and being replaced by a robot.

NOTE: Food and drink service available during each show!

SHARE
Louisville, KY One-Man Show

Happy Fun Time at the (Louisville Fringe) Complex

Louisville Fringe Festival at Four Pegs Beer Lounge - 1053 Goss Ave - $15
Sun 07/15/18 10:00 PM

NOTE TIME CHANGE FROM 7:00 TO 10:00
CASH ONLY AT THE DOOR, $5 BILLS PREFERRED

Part of an evening of entertainment with Moonrise Productions’ play “If”.

Captain Ambivalent went to sleep in 2016 and woke up in this underground complex full of secret mutants and traitors controlled by an insane computer with no idea how we got there! And now, he’s been assigned to explain it all in song to you, the heroic survivors of the amnesia gas incident on level 12.

SHARE
Louisville, KY One-Man Show

Happy Fun Time at the (Louisville Fringe) Complex

Louisville Fringe Festival at Monnik Beer Co. - 1036 E Burnett Ave - $15
Sat 07/14/18 10:00 PM

CASH ONLY AT THE DOOR, $5 BILLS PREFERRED

Part of an evening of entertainment with Zilla Improv.

SHARE
Louisville, KY One-Man Show

Happy Fun Time at the (Louisville Fringe) Complex

Louisville Fringe Festival at Kaiju - 1004 E. Oak St. - $15
Fri 07/13/18 7:00 PM

CASH ONLY AT THE DOOR, $5 BILLS PREFERRED

Part of an evening of entertainment

SHARE
Elgin, IL One-Man Show

The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Side Street Studio Arts - 15 Ziegler Ct - $10 advance, $12 at door (Mature)
Fri 02/02/18 8:00 PM

A tribute to St. Valentine’s Day with magician William Pack and storyteller David Boyle.

SHARE
Elgin, IL One-Man Show

The Dark Nut Rises

Elgin Fringe Festival - 15 Ziegler Court - $10+$3 Fringe button
Thu 09/14/17 7:30 PM
Fri 09/15/17 7:30 PM
Sat 09/16/17 4:30 PM
Media Coverage
Fri 09/01/17 Elgin Courier-News “Elgin embraces the arts for Fringe Festival”
Tue 09/12/17 Daily Herald “Elgin Fringe Festival returns this week”
Fri 09/15/17 Elgin Walkabout EFF 2017 Review Roundup 9-14-17
Promotional Events
Wed 09/13/17 6:00 PM Blimp raising at Blue Box Cafe followed by three minute previews at Martini’s FREE
SHARE
Pittsburgh, PA One-Man Show

Laundry Night

Pittsburgh Fringe / Artist Image Resources - 518 Foreland St. - Tickets $15/$12
Fri 03/31/17 6:15 PM
Sat 04/01/17 1:00 PM
Sun 04/02/17 8:00 PM
Media Coverage
Sat 04/01/17 Pittsburgh In The Round “Friday Fringe at AIR” review
Wed 04/05/17 Pittsburgh In The Round “Unpredictable Treasure: The Fringe Fest Day 3” review

The musical true story of my glacial rise from obscurity to international obscurity! From the Dawn of my Downy youth, I struggled to get the songs inside outside. But when I gave up on a “normal” Win and Dashed Briskly to Gain a More Bold Biz Method, I Surfed a Tide of Joy! 2016 Elgin Fringe Festival Audience Favorite Award.

SHARE
Elgin, IL One-Man Show

Laundry Night

Elgin Fringe Festival - 15 Ziegler Court - $10+$3 Fringe Button
Thu 09/15/16 9:00 PM
Sat 09/17/16 6:00 PM
Sun 09/18/16 4:30 PM
Media Coverage
Wed 09/07/16 Elgin Courier-News “Elgin festival puts the Fringe front and center”
Tue 09/13/16 Daily Herald “New acts, more artists add depth, variety to Elgin Fringe Festival”
Thu 09/15/16 The Elgin Review review: “Captain Ambivalent at Elgin Fringe Festival”
Sun 09/18/16 Elgin Courier-News “Fringe Fest brings art, music, even burlesque to downtown Elgin”
Promotional Events
Wed 09/14/16 6:00 PM blimp Raising at Blue Box Cafe followed by Preview Party at Martini’s FREE
Sat 09/17/16 12:00 PM lunch with me and Madeline Hicks at the Blue Box Cafe
Sat 09/17/16 2:00 PM half hour at Family Fringe (Hemmens Cultural Center) FREE

The true musical story of Captain Ambivalent’s glacial rise from total obscurity to international obscurity. From the Dawn of his Downy youth, Dan struggled to get the songs inside his head outside. But when he gave up seeing “normal” as a Win and Dashed Briskly to Gain a More Bold Biz Method, he Surfed a Tide of Joy!

“…a real-life saga punctuated by recurring scenes of unrequited love, noisy neighbors, and a relentless flow of song ideas. Career biography, yes — but this show is all about the music!…You’ll dance, you’ll cry, you’ll laugh and wonder why.” – Elgin Review

Winner of the “Audience Favorite” Award!

SHARE
Elgin, IL One-Man Show

The Good, The Bad, and the Ugly: A Tribute to St. Valentine’s Day

Side Street Studio Arts - 15 Ziegler Ct - $12 or $10 w/Fringe button
Fri 02/12/16 8:00 PM
Media Coverage
Wed 02/03/16 Daily Herald “Celebrating Valentine’s Day through art, performance in Elgin”

Elgin Fringe Festival and Sidestreet Gallery presented a one-night-only show to complement their current gallery exhibition. It was a pleasure to share the packed house with Kelly Bolton and David Boyle.

SHARE
Chicago, IL One-Man Show

Chicago Solo Theatre with Storyteller Jen Bosworth

Chicago Solo Theatre at Chicago Dramatists - 1105 W. Chicago - $10
Sun 01/10/16 7:00 PM

“It’s Personal,” Chicago Solo Theatre’s monthly show featuring the city’s best professional storytellers, is celebrating its third anniversary with a musical storyteller! (Yours truly.) “The Actual Origin of Captain Ambivalent.”

SHARE
Elgin, IL One-Man Show

Pirate Ninja Zombie: The Not So Secret Origin of Captain Ambivalent

Elgin Fringe Festival - 15 Ziegler Court - $3 Festival + $10 Show
Thu 09/17/15 7:00 PM
Fri 09/18/15 4:00 PM
Sat 09/19/15 3:30 PM
Sun 09/20/15 12:30 PM
Media Coverage
Wed 09/02/15 Bravo (arts and culture paper) profile

An enthusiastic biographic one-man accordion rock opera! Time travel through romantic, cultural, and corporate ambivalence with original witty songs from the albums “Fear The Accordion” and “Pirate Ninja Zombie.” Also, my sister’s Barbies. And a mad scientist. And a dinosaur! International Songwriting Competition 2014 Semi-Finalist (Comedy/Novelty). Clean.

SHARE